ECG-Research Award

The European College of Gerodontology (ECG) Research Award aims to foster and honour research in the field of Gerodontology. The prize will be awarded during the Annual Meeting of the European College of Gerodontology to be held in London/ UK on July 24th 2018 under the Presidency of Prof. Martin Schimmel.

The Awards Committee will be nominated by the ECG Board. This will consist of three colleagues from different countries who are members of the European College of Gerodontology.

  • The work shall be original and must not have been published nor presented prior to submission for this
  • The principal author must be a member of the ECG of good standing. Membership is not restricted to Europe and Membership Application Forms can be downloaded from the ECG website and should be submitted to Prof. Martin Schimmel.
  • The deadline for abstract submission will be 2nd February 2018.
  • The work should be submitted as a 1000 word maximum abstract before 2nd February 2018 to the Honorary Secretary of the ECG Dr Anastassia Kossioni (
  • The submission must also fulfil the requirements defined by ECG for all abstract submissions to the annual programme.
  • The submission shall indicate that the study is competing for the prize.
  • The awards committee will select the best three submissions to compete for the award during the Annual Meeting.
  • If selected for the award competition, a presentation shall be prepared for the Annual Conference of the ECG for oral delivery with a maximum length of seven minutes.
  • Evaluation for the award competition will be based on the submitted abstracts (65%) and the presentation of the work during the meeting (35%).
  • The remainder maximum ten submission might be presented as posters during the annual meeting.

  • We gratefully acknowledge that the bredent group (Germany) is sponsoring this prize.
    Anastassia Kossioni-Honorary Secretary

    Gerodontology Journal

    Gerodontology Journal

    Official Journal of the Gerodontology Association

    read more »

    ECG Research Award
    sponsored by: